Hot answers tagged

14

The other rationale for eating something like gelatin, e.g. Amonium phosphatides, Magnesium Stearate, Carmine, Lipase, is that animal derived additives are everywhere. They often occur in small amounts in processed foods. In the past, as a practical matter, I didn't worry about animal derived additives. At that time, I didn't have the shopping skills to ...


11

I think the main reason one eating gelatin is not knowing how it is made (extra source) or, more probable, that many products than seem vegetarian, actually contain it. This is summed up here: Gelatin is not vegetarian and is certainly not vegan. Sadly, millions of vegetarians and vegans could actually be using animal commodities unknowingly as the ...


8

The health benefits of gelatine In a review of available evidence for gelatines effects on joint health, the European Food Safety Authority writes that: In weighing the evidence, the Panel took into account that one study in physically active humans did not show an effect of collagen hydrolysate on joint discomfort, and that studies in animals and in ...


8

Gelatin is not vegan, vegetarian nor pescetarian. Gelatin is made of animal collagen. Collagen is extracted from animals' (pigs' or cows') hides and bones through a chemical process. I would not worry that much for such an accident. It happens. Being pescetarian/vegetarian/vegan is a choice, an accident does not make you less of those.


6

The first thing that popped in mind was flour glue, which is cheap, easy to make and possibly strong enough for glueing on glass bottles. It might be worth a try. However, I found a glue recipe suited for papier maché crafts, which seems ideal for your use case. Recipe (excerpt from the WikiHow article aforementioned): Ingredients 1 cup flour 1/3 cup ...


5

That's a good question and I see the argument behind your thoughts. However, I would argue that, even on consequentialist grounds, it might be problematic because gelatin is still profitable to sell for companies (otherwise they wouldn't do it), so you are in fact still supporting people profiting from the exploitation. Thus, I think it might make sense to ...


5

Veganism excludes all animal products (at least by the commonly accepted definition) so gelatin is not consistent with veganism regardless of whether there's additional suffering. The way I look at it, even if gelatin is a by-product of the meat industry, and I'm all for not wasting things, the sale of gelatin and other "by-products" (I use quotes because ...


5

Glucosamine Chondroitin MSM is a supplement that claims many of the same health benefits of gelatin. According to the National Institutes of Health, it repairs cartilage, eases the pain of connective tissues and arthritis, and acts as a natural anti-inflammatory. Glucosamine is commonly extracted from the hard outer shell of crabs, lobsters or shrimp ...


4

Talk to your doctor/pharmacist. The medicines are often available in alternate forms, but it will depend on the specific medication. Your doctor may be able to prescribe a different form, or the pharmacist may be able to supply the medicine with a non-gelatin capsule.


3

For me, this was quite a fundamental question when I first started to think about my consumption 10 years ago. So I can understand your "confusion". Since other users have pointed out some "financial reasons", I'll try to give you another point of view based on your consequentialsm. Assumption: We live in a non vegan world. Thus being 100% vegan in all sub ...


3

Short answer: NO Consuming gelatin increases the profitability of animal farming. The consequence is quite direct and clear.


2

Concerning the usage of the words vegetarian and vegan, by definition gelatin is not any of the two, so the question is moot. On the other hand when it comes to an ethical framework based on morals frequently taken as the reason for veg*anism, I can argue in favour of gelatin, to a degree. The argument applies to several reasons for living veg*n, for ...


2

I am a vegetarian, and I have no issue with consuming gelatin. My reason for being vegetarian is because meat doesn't taste pleasant to my palate.


2

This attitude could lead to some very unusual vegans. I know several couples in which one will only eat the "nice" cuts: steaks, chicken breast, etc and not the icky bits: offal, tail, feet, head, etc. The other will happily eat all these odd bits. So, if the first does all of the ordering and paying and the other eats what the first will not then can ...


2

Non-gelatine empty capsules can easily be found online for purchase in standard sizes. Filler racks and tampers (a tool for filling single or multiple capsules) are also readily available from popular online general retailers. This would allow for the contents of gelatine capsules to be transferred to non-gelatine capsules. Due to the nature of ...


1

It's up to you what you allow yourself to do and how you set your taboos. By definition, gelatin is not vegetarian, as it's made of a slaughtered animal. However, it's only a byproduct and not what the cow was actually killed for, so I can see an argument for being unbothered by it, and I won't take an issue with you eating it and still calling yourself ...


1

Pharmacies in germany are forced by law to give you the cheapest medicine. Sometimes your health insurance has a contract with a special manufacturer. In that case, the pharmacy will give you a product from this contractor. Yes, your doctor can force the pharmacy to give you a vegan medicine or he can write you a recipe over a concrete medicine. When the ...


1

It just depends on your reasons for becoming a vegetarian. I am a vegetarian and I do not eat gelatin, I am a vegetarian for animals. My mom is a vegetarian and she eats gelatin, but, she does it because she does not like meat and it is for her health. Technically gelatin is not vegetarian. Gelatin are animal body parts. The answer is technically: no The ...


1

I’m a vegetarian, and I eat gelatin. Simply because I feel bad eating meat (I guess morally) so I don’t eat it. It’s a lot easier to eat something yummy like lollies (which is when I eat it.) and just not think about the fact that it contains meat. Obviously I only occasionally eat lollies so it’s not a huge deal. Also, saying I’m vegetarian- to me, is just ...


1

intentional ignorance (as a self chosen exception) - "at least the rest of this cake is vegetarian, and whoever paid for it didn't understand the issue..." just plain old ignorance - some people might not realize that something that comes as transparent sheets or white powder (it certainly looks manufactured) is an animal product plain old being misled - the ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible