There are multiple reasons why people are/become Vegetarian/Vegan apart from ethics, including but not limited to
Religion/Culture - most of the worlds Vegetarians reside in India, mainly due to culture/personal beliefs but often interlinked with some of their major religions (Hinduism/Sikhism/Jainism etc) which promote the diet. Some strains of Buddhism ...
Consent is one issue, Mothers have a choice, animals don't, we can't ask them whether they want to participate.
Milk production involves female cows and to get them you need male cows. Male cows are either eaten or destroyed which many vegetarians and vegans find problematic.
Honey isn't considered vegan as it's an animal product made by bees for their own use.
Bees are usually fed a substitute as a replacement which isn't as good for their health, but there are more issues than that; as you've mentioned sometimes bees are killed during removal of honey (sometimes killed deliberately), they are often selectively bred which has ...
Source: Hidden Animal Ingredients in Foods (dummies.com), slightly modified and extended.
Can be vegan, or animal based:
Glucose (dextrose) - Animal tissues and fluids (some glucose can come from fruits)
Glycerides (mono-, di-, and triglycerides) - Glycerol from animal fats or plants
Lactic acid - An acid formed by bacteria acting on sugar, ...
Apparently, the reason manufacturers label sugar as vegan is due to the way it's refined. If they use bone char (charred cow bones) to process sugar, then they won't label it as vegan.
It isn't a bleach bath that takes sugar from coarse and brown to fine and white. Most raw sugar is actually refined with a bone char. To make bone char,...
My mum was concerned about my health and wellbeing when I transitioned from vegetarianism to veganism, but I was not living at home at the time.
What I did was constantly talk about the great food I was eating, sending pictures to my family of the beautiful food I was cooking and eating out and about and telling them how delicious it was.
My parents have ...
Vegetarians and vegans suffer lower rates of some forms of cancer.
A 2012 analysis of all the best studies done to date concluded vegetarians have significantly lower cancer rates. For example, the largest forward-looking study on diet and cancer ever performed concluded that “the incidence of all cancers combined is lower among vegetarians.”
Vegans do not have a problem with 'a mother cow breastfeeding their babies'. Vegans have a problem with humans consuming a cow's breastmilk. It is natural for a woman to breastfeed a child. It is not natural, biologically speaking, for a human to drink another animal's breast milk. It is also a matter of consent.
There is a lot of death and cruelty involved ...
Can I live without it safely?
No. B12 is an extremely important vitamin supporting many bodily and psychiatric functions. Fun fact (and I need citation here) is that it is so important you can live without it for months, exactly because your liver caches it in case you don't intake any for a while.
How can I obtain this vitamin as a vegan?
With a ...
I can't answer definitively but possibly my experience is worth sharing here.
Thinking about food labelling, products may be labelled vegan and have a warning aimed at allergy sufferers along the lines of
produced in a facility that handles dairy products, eggs [...]
So, a product can be vegan if cross-contamination may have taken place. I am vegan for ...
When in doubt, consult your doctor, and do bloodwork!
Iron. I have never had anemia problems and iron is replete in dark leafy greens.
Vitamin A. Primarily found in meats, but also in cooked vegetables. If you are a raw vegan you are at risk for Vitamin A.
Vitamin D. You are likely at risk anyway if you live in a northern climate. Vitamin D affects ...
get some extra-firm tofu and fry it with green/spring onion, turmeric (for colour), and yeast extract, nutritional yeast or soy sauce for flavour.
serve on toast etc
mix chickpea/gram flour with your favourite vegan milk and some salt and herbs to make a batter.
Fry in a little oil on both sides.
avocado on toast
mash up ...
Yes. Not all condoms are Vegan. There are different types of condoms available. While most condoms are made from rubber latex, condoms made from lamb cecums are also available. These are called lamb-skin condoms or just skin condoms in short.
Quoting from this article.
The term condom is actually a corruption of the name of an 18th-century ...
Environmental is pretty huge. Includes CO2 emissions and antibiotic-resistance superbugs (and superbugs caused by C02 emissions for that matter). You could call that ethics but it is broader than animal welfare.
Health is mentioned a lot, although that seems to be a reason people who are not vegan think they might go vegan. I think my health has improved ...
Yes, but because you need to learn what the heck you are going to eat. (And supplement.)
People misunderstand why transition is necessary. Your body can handle new foods just fine. I am more worried about your psychology adjusting, now that "becoming full" might not be telling you what it used to. I wrote this up in a short article which I will ...
A distinction needs to be made between the different omega 3 fatty acids, namely ALA, EPA and DHA. All three of them are needed in a healthy human. Humans can metabolise ALA into EPA, and EPA into DHA, but the process is inefficient, can be inhibited by high Omega 6 fat intake, and requires a huge supply of ALA (or EPA, to produce DHA). (Other omega 3 acids ...
Some scientific research suggests that possible deficiency of omega-3 is not a major concern for vegetarians or vegans.
There are several kinds of Omega 3: ALA, EPA and DHA. The first can be found in plant products, such as linseed and chia seed, while the second and third belong primarily to animal products like fish, but can be sourced from algae. Hence ...
In my personal experience there is one thing that made my family more open to the idea of veganism and that vegan food is not bland and boring (one of the major concerns my family also had).
Cook for them. This is the best way of showing anyone that vegan food is not boring and that it can be very tasty, if they try it and like it, it will make the process ...
Yes. There is a process in which the silk worms are not harmed when the silk is extracted. That process is called Ahimsa silk meaning peace silk.
Regular process of producing silk:
The production of silk is called Sericulture. In the production of regular silk, the cocoons are immersed in boiling water to kill the worms and spool the silk yarn. This the ...
The host generally makes the rules for an event, so a condition like that is entirely appropriate. If they have dietary/medical needs that they feel cannot be met by vegan means, you might want to ask them to check with you
The way you explain the expectation is going to be entirely culture-dependent. One possibility is including verbiage along the lines ...
It's actually possible for children to be vegan from any age, assuming they are breastfed (see If vegans don't drink milk, why are they okay with breastfeeding?) or appropriate formula can be sourced (vegan infant formula is rather difficult to get hold of though).
You can introduce vegan "milk" products from age 1 (soya, rice, oat or almond milk) - ...
The most canonical definition of veganism would be the one from The Vegan Society. The Vegan Society was founded by Donald Watson, who coined the term vegan.
Donald Watson originally defined vegans as "non-dairy vegetarians". The definition was updated to its current definition when The Vegan Society became a registered charity in 1997. (source)
The following is based on my experience of South Asian restaurants in the UK and on eating out in Chennai.
If it is vegetarian, it could contain
yogurt / curd / buttermilk
These may be mentioned in the description of the dish.
Here are some dishes that I find are usually vegan (but do ask to be sure) if ghee is not mentioned
The term vegan was intended by those who coined it to encompass lifestyles that respect non-human animals and refrain from any exploitation of them.
From The Vegan Society history page
Although the vegan diet was defined early on it was as late as 1949
before Leslie J Cross pointed out that the society lacked a definition
of veganism and he suggested ...
Just another perspective, maybe should have been a comment instead, but:
I read once, on a blog possibly but it was a good few years ago, that the person no longer sees meat as food, and I agree totally.
When people ask me questions like 'don't you miss x thing?', it almost doesn't compute because there's meat and then there's food, and I wouldn't use ...
This started as a reaction to a rant from one dairy lover who was offended by vegan cheese being called cheese. Excerpt from the rant suggesting the vegan cheese being called Gary:
"Call it Gary or something just don't call it
cheese because it's not cheese!"
The relevant part of the rant as an image is here.
The internet responded and so did the real ...