This tag is for questions about the most appropriate vegan and vegetarian alternatives in recipes and processes.

Use these more specific tags if asking about substitutes for meat, dairy, or eggs. It's okay to also include the substitutes tag, but it's not necessary.

There are a variety of other animal products that one might want to identify substitutes for.

  • honey and beeswax
  • fur, leather, wool, and down
  • gelatin (often found in candies)
  • rennet (used in traditional cheesemaking)

Not all questions about substitutes are about replacing animal products. For example, asking about how to replace nuts in a recipe because of allergies would still be a question about substitutes.