In addition to being vegetarian (do not eat meat, poultry, or fish), vegans do not consume or use any animal products (such as eggs, milk, leather, honey, etc.)

Vegans subsist on a solely plant based diet and also try to, as far as possible avoid animal exploitation. They therefore generally eschew both products made from animals and products that have undergone animal testing.

The vegan society defined veganism in 1951 as

The word veganism shall mean the doctrine that man should live without exploiting animals.

Questions about health, nutrition, the avoidance of animal products, specific questions about the transition to, and statistics about veganism should use this tag.