A type of vegetarianism that excludes meat and fish but allows consumption of eggs (ovo) and dairy products (lacto)

Some vegetarians consume eggs and dairy products. These products, while of animal origin are theoretically produced without directly killing the animal that produced them although there may be other collateral animal suffering and death.

Many vegetarians who eat cheese avoid cheese made from animal-derived rennet since it is harvested from the stomachs of slaughtered newborn calves. Rennet is used to separate curds and whey in cheese making. Non-animal derived rennet is available, and some soft cheeses such as cottage cheese are not made with rennet at all.

Questions about the type of vegetarianism that allows consumption of these products should use this tag.

Related tags: