I'm writing a recipe called Readers Delight! which I have shared on Genius Kitchen (previously Food.com). My goal is for the recipe to have one ingredient for every letter in the alphabet. This is the recipe so far:

  • 1 (24 ounce) can alphabet pasta
  • 1⁄2 cup orange juice
  • 3 large carrots
  • 1 avocado, pulp
  • 1⁄3 cup wheat germ
  • 4 cups croutons
  • 3 teaspoons sesame seeds
  • 1 pinch salt and pepper
  • 1⁄3 cup red pepper flakes
  • 1 yellow banana


  • Pour soup & orange juice into a medium pot.
  • Add all ingredients except croutons.
  • Cook over medium heat for 45 minutes.
  • Add croutons toward the end of the cooking process.
  • Serve warm or chilled.

Now my question is this: after viewing this recipe, does it need any tweaking to be vegan-friendly? If so what tweaks would you recommend?

  • This question is not very clear at the moment. It is hard to say whether something is vegan if you don't specify what that something is. – Alexander Rossa Nov 2 at 21:46
  • Sorry, I meant to ask how you would make it vegetarian, again sorry – Abraham Ray Nov 2 at 21:48
  • I updated the question if it helps @AlexanderRossa – Abraham Ray Nov 2 at 22:27
  • No, I’m still working on it really – Abraham Ray Nov 4 at 0:31
  • 1
    I just did @Duckisaduckisaduck – Abraham Ray Nov 7 at 15:46
up vote 3 down vote accepted

Most of the ingredients you've listed are unprocessed vegetables, fruits, or seasonings all of which are already vegan. There are only two ingredients which might raise concern: pasta and croutons.

Pasta is usually purchased in one of three ways.

  • Dry pasta in a box is almost always vegan, with only basic ingredients like semolina and wheat flour. This dry Catelli alphabet pasta is vegan.
  • Fresh pasta (not dry) might not be vegan, because it is often prepared with egg.
  • Canned pasta might not be vegan because dairy products are common in the sauce, such as with this can of Alpha-getti.

Croutons are commonly made by brushing slices of bread with butter (a dairy product). Many pre-packaged croutons available in stores are not vegan, so either read labels carefully or make your own.

To make sure this recipe is vegan, I suggest the following tweaks:

  • Recommend dry alphabet pasta specifically, or leave it up to the reader to find some canned alphabet pasta that is vegan.
  • Link to a recipe for vegan homemade croutons, like this one from Oh She Glows.

Your Answer


By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.