If I am not wrong, this chocolate is vegan. And I also know that vegan foods do not contain cholesterol.
So why does it say it has 1mg cholesterol? Thank you.
**UPDATE, based on factual inaccuracy in the original answer this has been edited.
There is some confusion online about the sources of cholesterol, which can come in dietary form through animal or dairy products, or can be made internally by one's own body, for example when processing trans fats:
Trans fat is added to processed foods through an industrial process where hydrogen is added to vegetable oil, which allows the oil to be solid at room temperature. On ingredients labels, it’s called “partially hydrogenated vegetable oil,” and it is used to give many packaged foods a longer shelf life.
Therefore, fully vegan food will never have cholesterol. Therefore, 1mg sounds like an error or a strange choice to round up from zero.