Apparently, the reason manufacturers label sugar as vegan is due to the way it's refined. If they use bone char (charred cow bones) to process sugar, then they won't label it as vegan.
It isn't a bleach bath that takes sugar from coarse and brown to fine and white. Most raw sugar is actually refined with a bone char. To make bone char,...
get some extra-firm tofu and fry it with green/spring onion, turmeric (for colour), and yeast extract, nutritional yeast or soy sauce for flavour.
serve on toast etc
mix chickpea/gram flour with your favourite vegan milk and some salt and herbs to make a batter.
Fry in a little oil on both sides.
avocado on toast
mash up ...
As you are looking for some non-sweet recipes, Indian recipes are a good option for you. Most Indians prefer not to have sweet foods in their breakfast (although they do at lunch or supper)
Below are some easy breakfast recipes:
It is a thin crepe made out of soaked rice and skinned black gram. Dosa is one of the famous south-Indian breakfast ...
Demand for palm oil has fueled massive forest destruction throughout Indonesia (35% of world production) and Malaysia (39% of world production).
Orangutans are endemic to Borneo and Sumatra. Borneo is divided amongst three nations: Malaysia, Brunei, and Indonesia. Palm oil production is the biggest cause of Orangutan habitat loss. It's the cause of the ...
You might like Happy Cow which is a social media site to help folks find vegan, vegetarian, and veg-friendly restaurants, shops and services.
The website allows you to search an area with various options, and you can create an account so that you can add venues, ratings and reviews, upload photos and get points for your contributions (we like those, right? ;...
One difference between animal protein and plant protein is that plant protein breaks down much more quickly than animal protein (which is why that feeling of being horribly full for a long time after eating lots of animal protein doesn't usually happen with plant protein).
This is why some ultra athletes say they prefer plant protein when you need to eat as ...
Toast with hummus. You can even make a creamier spread with avocado and cucumbers.
Open a tomato, add stuffing and bake it, it's delicious. Here's a recipe (of course, don't add the cheese).
Garlic bread. Recipe is so simple I don't even need a link: mix vegetable oil (don't use coconut, though, the smell kinda ruins it) and smashed garlic on a frying pan, ...
My local pizzeria uses a brand called VioLife who have a cheese specifically for pizza, though any of their cheeses would work.
At home, I enjoy my own 'vegan cheese' on pizza which has two ingredients: hummus and nutritional yeast. Simply spread the hummus onto the pizza and sprinkle with as much nooch as you like, then add the toppings of your choice! ...
click the pictures to go to a UK-based online supplier.
Mr Organic Free From Chocolate Hazelnut Spread (cheapest & most like Nutella)
Ingredients: Cane sugar, sunflower oil, Cocoa (16%), Hazelnut paste (12%), Rice Flour, Cocoa butter, Sunflower Lecithin
Also available in independent health food stores
Rawtella (sweetened with supersweet coconut blosson ...
Because several ecosystems are being destroyed to fuel the oil palm industry. It might be animal-free, but it is not cruelty-free.
The oil palm agribusiness is devastating the rainforest in Southeast Asia:
The two largest oil palm-producing countries—Indonesia and Malaysia—are located in Southeast Asia, a region with numerous endemic, forest-dwelling ...
Yes, Marmite is vegan.
Yeast is a type of microfungi and as such is not considered non-vegan or an animal product, just like any other kind of mushroom.
Regarding yeast and veganism, there are already some answers in this thread.
There are several reasons:
First, many vegans are concerned for the planet and the environment. A large proportion of deforestation in recent years has been caused by the expansion of oil palm fields, partly provoked by the demand for biofuels. So, boycotting palm oil is a way to reduce or express resistance to destruction of the environment.
Second, there ...
According to the FAO report, crickets have a live weight feed conversion ratio of 1.7. This means 1kg of live cricket requires 1.7kg of feed. Crickets are approximately 80% edible, giving a feed-to-food ratio of about 2.1. According to the report, "this means that crickets are twice as efficient in converting feed to meat as chicken, at least four times more ...
One aspect of "protein quality" refers to how close a type of protein is to being "complete", i.e. containing all the nine essential amino acids in sufficient amounts.
Most meat, fish, whey (milk protein) and eggs are complete protein sources.
As covered in other questions, there are many vegan complete protein sources as well, such as soy beans, lentils ...
Marmite is vegan. However, if you are vegan because of the animal rights side of things, you should take into consideration that it is made by Unilever and they are heavily involved in animal testing. Most of the main supermarkets do a generic brand, all of which taste no different.
What are vegan sources of Omega 3 that are not algae, seeds, or nuts?
It seems you're in luck - it should be easy to obtain from these sources:
Vegetables, especially green leafy ones, are good sources of ALA, one
form of omega-3 fatty acids. Although ALA isn't as powerful as the
other omega-3 fatty acids, DHA and EPA, these vegetables also have
I have some experience with this. After being vegetarian for a couple years, I started eating meat again a couple times, mostly while on trips.
I didn't observe any major side effects. My digestion tends to get a bit messed up at the start, but it never was any worse than the usual travel related / not being used to the food kind of feeling.
I noticed ...
There is another website with similar functionality to Happy Cow, which is called Vanilla Bean. It focuses on (not necessarily vegan) restaurants with vegan options.
They also have an app, which works quite well.
There are various ready-made vegan "cheese" products available and I hope others can recommend some that are suitable. I don't use them myself.
I make my own cheese-like foods from various fairly basic ingredients. Here is how I make the kind of "cheese" I use for pizza. It is tasty and kind of sticky, but not stretchy like melted ...
Porridge (oatmeal) is a great Scottish staple. Cheap and convenient. You can make it fairly quickly on the stove or faster in the microwave with water or plain unsweetened soy/almond/rice milk. Fresh fruits are a healthy topping in moderation but seeds are also an option for something less sweet.
While cheese is a fantastic ingredient which very specific physical properties and tastes, people are often indoctrinated about the ways of making a successful pizza. Once you are vegan, you will find that you are now free from the shackles of tradition and you can experiment however you want. Cheese doesn't have to be cheese and doesn't have to be cheesy. ...
A couple of pizza places local to me use Daiya Brand vegan cheese. It is soy and peanut/treenut free. It melts and stretches similar to mozzarella.
Daiya also makes frozen pizzas available in some grocery stores.
expeller pressed non-GMO canola and/or safflower oil,
pea protein, salt,
I know I'm late to the party, but I've thought of a nice little curveball.
Sushi! (Which does actually mean 'rice'.)
For example, there's kappamaki, a type of sushi consisting of:
nori* (a kind of seaweed)
strips of cucumber
It's named after a kind of water-dwelling 'demon' called a Kappa that tries to snatch and drown children. This is ...
A typical Israeli breakfast can easily be made vegan: Israeli salad (finely chopped cucumber, tomato and onion with some olive oil and a bit of lemon), a few slices of bread and a savory spread (hummus, tahini, baba ghanoush, mashed avocado, olive tapenade, pesto, sun-dried tomato spread and so on).
I never use any egg substitute and I don't have any trouble... Here's my method:
half and half gram/chickpea flour and buckwheat flour
oat or soya mylk (or whatever you like)
salt, herbs etc, to taste
use rapeseed oil to cook
half and half buckwheat flour and chestnut flour
hazelnut or buckwheat mylk (or whatever you like)
Plants, and some protoctists (algae, for example) use the sun's energy to fix carbon from the air (photosynthesis). Because the resulting compounds can release energy when they react with oxygen (or are otherwise broken down), animals can use these compounds inside their bodies to release energy for their own purposes.
Thus, the ultimate foundations of all ...
This answer is partially specific to the United States.
There's a few indicators you can look for either in the ingredient list or on the package itself:
If the product is a USDA Organic product, it won't include bone char as bone char is on their list of prohibited substances
If the sugar is specified as "unrefined", "beet", "raw", or made from "...
Based on what can be seen in the recipe it might well be vegan as there are no visible animal ingredients used.
The one problem that can render it non-vegan (and arguably even non-vegetarian) would be the sugar that you use to make the syrup. During the production of sugar, bone char of animals is sometimes used and this makes the sugar non-vegan and non-...
Moving my original comment as an answer since the question was reopened:
It's good to be aware that many websites on the internet try to create hype around various "superfoods" and bone broth seems to be one of them. There is nothing intrinsically special about these foods and the same goes for bone broth, it provides no magical vitamin or protein that can'...