I have this shampoo which has an ingredient called "Cocamidopropyl Betaine", is this vegetarian and/or vegan?
A quick Google doesn't reveal anything regarding vegetarianism of the ingredient.
I found this link according to which it is made out of coconut oil and betaine but I have no idea what is betaine and where it comes from. The Wikipedia article on betaine is beyond my understanding and doesn't appear to have information on how and from what it is produced.
Here is the link to the Wikipedia article on the ingredient but I still don't know if it's vegetarian and/or vegan.
Further reading shows that Cocamidopropyl Betaine is made by reacting dimethylaminopropylamine with fatty acids from coconut oil. Dimethylaminopropylamine is made via a reaction between dimethylamine and acrylonitrile and dimethylamine is found in both animals and plants which would suggest that it might not be vegetarian.