I'm a pescetarian, and I accidentally took a gum not knowing that there was some beef gelatin in it. Am I allowed to do that?

  • Up to the person I guess. My partner is pescetarian and she generally avoids things that she knows for sure contains gelatin. But I am pretty sure some of the desserts she has when eating out will have it. Its very hard to completely avoid in practise. Commented Aug 19, 2021 at 7:16
  • As a general rule, you can substitute powdered agar for gelatin in equal amounts Commented Aug 22, 2021 at 10:39

2 Answers 2


Gelatin is not vegan, vegetarian nor pescetarian. Gelatin is made of animal collagen.

Collagen is extracted from animals' (pigs' or cows') hides and bones through a chemical process.

I would not worry that much for such an accident. It happens. Being pescetarian/vegetarian/vegan is a choice, an accident does not make you less of those.


It's up to you what you allow yourself to do and how you set your taboos. By definition, gelatin is not vegetarian, as it's made of a slaughtered animal. However, it's only a byproduct and not what the cow was actually killed for, so I can see an argument for being unbothered by it, and I won't take an issue with you eating it and still calling yourself vegetarian (or pescetarian).

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.