If one eats insects as part of their diet, can it be considered vegetarian?
It depends on whether you consider insects animals or not.
If you are a vegan/vegetarian and you don't want to eat anything in the biological kingdom Animalia, you can't eat insects.
Many people have the attitude "if something has to die for me to eat it, I don't want to eat it", so they say no to insects also.
However, since insects don't feel pain the same way other animals do, some people are perfectly fine with eating them.
It's really comes down to what you consider an animal to be, and whether your stance is not to eat animals or not to eat things that don't like being eaten. (i.e. plants don't know and therefore don't care about being eaten)
The only honest answers are "it's up to you" and "for what purpose?" In short, you can call yourself whatever you want.
- If you're designing a survey to track lifestyle by diet, you might consider lumping in insect-eaters with vegetarians if you feel they have more in common there than they do with meat eaters.
- Call yourself a vegan if you want to draw attention to ethical choices you have made regarding your food that are restrictive against meat. Or if it's just easier to explain than, "insects are delicious." Do not worry about the vegan police :)