There are many contradictory sources on whether the classic black Oreo "Sandwich Cookies" are vegan or not.

Though sold almost worldwide, classic Oreos are produced in just a handful of big factories around the world by Mondelez/Nabisco/Cadbury/Milka.

Are all classic Oreos vegan?

2 Answers 2


It depends.

The classic Oreo cookie is made using the same main ingredients, With some substitutions like in Canada, where the vegetable oil is coconut oil. None of these ingredients are currently of animal origin:

  • Sugar
  • Unbleached enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, iron, thiamine mono-nitrate (vitamin B1), riboflavin (vitamin B2), folic acid)
  • High oleic canola oil and/or palm oil and/or canola oil
  • Cocoa (treated with alkali)
  • High-fructose corn syrup
  • Leavening agent (baking soda and/or monocalcium phosphate)
  • Corn starch
  • Salt
  • Soy lecithin
  • Vanillin
  • Chocolate
  • Palm oil

The contradictions seem to stem from the fact that the manufacturers themselves state that they are not vegan. According to the official UK site FAQ (emphasis mine):

No, Oreo have milk as cross contact and therefore they are not suitable for vegans.

However, some vegans including myself, and although I would rather buy products from brands that are entirely cruelty-free, would not deem them non-vegan solely because of cross-contamination risk.

This was different in the past as milk whey was used as an ingredient for the filling in the EU market.

The bottom line is:

Ingredients of this heavily processed, industrialized snacks change often as they are always trying to reduce costs. Try to stay away from this gamble and if there isn't a choice, carefully read the ingredients on that particular package. Of course, also decide for yourself whether "might contain traces of milk" is acceptable.

  • 3
    I think you should add the ingredient list in your post in case the site you linked become unavailable.
    – Niitaku
    Jun 27, 2019 at 12:09

Oreo is vegan or not this is kind of a never-ending debate but after PETA post that It's true, #Oreos are #vegan! Did you know all these other snacks are too? this tweet we can say Oreo are vegan friendly.

  • 1
    This is beyond incoherent and links to a site with pop-up window covering pop-up window. Voting to delete. May 11, 2020 at 19:07

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.