I've heard mixed information about whether McDonald's fries are vegan. There's mixed information about flavourings used in manufacture, or different fats used for deep frying. Even this recent Reddit thread seems to have mixed information. And since it varies by country, I'll ask this question in the context of Canada specifically.

Are McDonald's fries vegan in Canada?


Yes. According to their official website for Canada (emphasis mine):

Fries and Hash Browns

Our World Famous Fries™ and hash browns are go-tos for our vegetarian and vegan guests. Since 2007, we’ve made them without any animal-sourced ingredients. We cook them in 100% vegetable oil, in a dedicated fryer separate from our meat items.

Additionally, from their nutrition calculator you can get a full list of the ingredients in their fries:

French Fries: Potatoes, canola oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, safflower oil, natural flavour (vegetable source), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (maintain colour), citric acid (preservative), dimethylpolysiloxane (anti-foaming agent), cooked in vegetable oil (canola oil, corn oil, soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, citric acid, dimethylpolysiloxane)

Salt: Salt, silicoaluminate, dextrose, potassium iodide

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.