Image of the chocolate box

If I am not wrong, this chocolate is vegan. And I also know that vegan foods do not contain cholesterol.

So why does it say it has 1mg cholesterol? Thank you.

  • this is an approximate number which comes from milk (read may contain ingredients)
    – Maxgmer
    Commented Nov 22, 2018 at 12:08
  • 2
    Does it say it's vegan on the labeling, or are you assuming it's vegan based on ingredients?
    – Erica
    Commented Nov 22, 2018 at 12:18
  • 1
    Also, see: vegetarianism.stackexchange.com/questions/1516/…
    – Erica
    Commented Nov 22, 2018 at 12:20
  • 2
    It is most likely an error in typing up the nutrition facts. You need to contact the manufacturer to confirm this; you haven’t provided enough information here (eg. flavour, batch number) for somebody else to contact the manufacturer.
    – Nic
    Commented Nov 22, 2018 at 15:25
  • 2
    The only result for lindt chocolate of 125g and 52% I can find is lindtusa.com/dark-chocolate-swiss-thins-418467aa and this doesn't have cholesterol according to that website.
    – Nobody
    Commented Nov 22, 2018 at 15:49

1 Answer 1


There is some confusion online about the sources of cholesterol, which can come in dietary form through animal or dairy products, or can be made internally by one's own body, for example when processing trans fats:


Trans fat is added to processed foods through an industrial process where hydrogen is added to vegetable oil, which allows the oil to be solid at room temperature. On ingredients labels, it’s called “partially hydrogenated vegetable oil,” and it is used to give many packaged foods a longer shelf life.

Therefore, fully vegan food will never have cholesterol. Therefore, 1mg sounds like an error or a strange choice to round up from zero.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.