I would like to know whether this coffee syrup recipe is vegan or just vegetarian. Below is the recipe:

Coffee syrup ingredients:
2 cups of sugar
1 cup of coffee

Directions:
Put the sugar into the coffee

Boil the mixture untill it reaches a thick syrup state

To make into a liquid coffee put 1-2 tablespoons of the syrup into hot water and stir until it completely dissolves

up vote 5 down vote accepted

Based on what can be seen in the recipe it might well be vegan as there are no visible animal ingredients used.

The one problem that can render it non-vegan (and arguably even non-vegetarian) would be the sugar that you use to make the syrup. During the production of sugar, bone char of animals is sometimes used and this makes the sugar non-vegan and non-vegetarian. If youwant to use sugar that would not use bone char, I suggest you to have a look at the answers to this question.

To conclude, the recipe in itself is clearly vegan but make sure you use the right sugar. I hope you'll enjoy the coffee syrup :).

Your Answer

 

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.