A quick Google doesn't say anything. Reading at the wikipedia article it seems like it is but I am not sure.


"Brown" bread usually means a type of bread made either with whole wheat flour or a mixture of whole wheat flour and white wheat flour. Sometimes gluten free bread products are called "brown bread" too - these may be made with a mixture of flours.

Bread, "brown" or white, leavened or not, is usually vegan. The basic ingredients are

  • flour (which will most likely, but not certainly, be vegan)
  • yeast (a unicellular microorganism significantly less complex than any plant)
  • water
  • sugar
  • salt

But it may sometimes be enriched with butter or other dairy products or honey, or have a coating that contains egg. Vitamins and minerals, preservatives and other trace ingredients may also be added, so you will need to check the ingredients list and suitability labelling, or contact the maker if this information is not available.

| improve this answer | |
  • Here: vegetarianism.stackexchange.com/questions/249/… is claimed that some flour is not vegan therefore not all bread is vegan. – Petar Vasilev Aug 12 '17 at 16:53
  • @PetarVasilev if you knew the answer why didn't you post it yourself? XD Added link to that question – Zanna Aug 12 '17 at 16:56
  • I am asking about brown bread not normal bread. I thought there might be a difference. – Petar Vasilev Aug 12 '17 at 17:00
  • @PetarVasilev brown bread is not a technical term, but in general it means some of the bran and germ of the wheat has not been removed from the flour, so, it's not automatically more or less vegan – Zanna Aug 12 '17 at 17:02
  • Beware honey, if you care about honey... – rackandboneman Aug 23 '17 at 11:50

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.